I Think It’s Time For Another Boycott

In the words of Steve Martin “Excuuuse meee” for saying so, but I think Hollywood has a major problem on their hands.

With all the trivial problems our world is facing today like terrorism, world hunger, disease, homelessness, economic instability, racial profiling, growing student loan debt, or a suitable Presidential Candidate, it may have escaped your notice that there is another more pressing problem facing us all.

A lack of diversity among Hollywood Oscar Nominees.

I know, I know, but folks this is a problem and we need to nip it in the bud before it’s too late. So that trip to the bathroom you were contemplating… you can just forget about it! Cross your legs and eyes, because this is a priority one alert taking us to Defcon One.

Jada Pinkett Smith?

What has she got to do with all of this? Well, besides her husband Will not being nominated this year, and all her ranting and raving about other people of color not being nominated… nothing—except for perhaps possibly missing that morning cup of espresso.

pixar.wikia.com

pixar.wikia.com

I mean, the last time I looked, there were not too many Native Americans, Latin Americans, Asians, Europeans, or Mediterraneans nominated either—not to mention illegal aliens (Martians)! Don’t they come in an array of skin colors, too? I didn’t see her pleading their case all that much.

Yep, I’ll bet she was suffering from caffeine deprivation.

And yes, okay, Jada, Will, and many other celebrities of color are having a real tough time making ends meet down in sunny Southern California, what with the cost of living being what it is these days. So obviously, an Oscar nomination might have gone a long way in helping out their cause.

As opposed to just regular folks of color, who have it downright easy in many an inner city location and who could care less about any kind of Oscar nomination. But those folks are just plain whiners anyway.

No, the kind of boycott I’m talking about here is, how this years Academy Awards conveniently ignored nominating any celebrity noses of color. Talk about your total lack of diversity.

Now, I can well understand your reluctance to take me seriously about this, thinking me bias and all. But it should be noted that I am not complaining for myself alone, far from it—even though I do have a nose for this sort of thing and a rather large Red one at that, and who also happens to be a card carrying SAG (Screen Actors Guild) member.

I’m speaking out on behalf of my fellow (SAG) noses of color. Living, breathing human-beings who have no voice at all!

Why in this years Pixar film “Inside Out” alone, there were five fellow noses of color who failed to pick up a single nomination from The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences.

For example; Bing Bong, whose nose is Pink and who also happens to be a good friend of mine. Now his nose failed to get an Oscar nod. And then there’s Fear (Lavender), Disgust (Green), Sadness (Blue), and my favorite… Anger (Red)—although I can’t figure out why I’m so sympathetic to his exclusion—all left off of the Oscar ballot.

mr.movie review.com

mr.movie review.com I haven’t yet got a clue as to why I’m so partial to Anger?

These noses of color deserved Oscar recognition, too. Like some of the more famous noses of color from films past. The Hulk and The Wicked Witch of the West (both Green), Lassie (Black), and Kid Shelleen from “Cat Ballou” (Silver).

It should be noted that actor Lee Marvin did receive a best supporting actor Oscar. However, Mr. Marvin was a full human torso and so his award shouldn’t count.

LEE MARVIN CAT BALLOU www.filmclub.org COLUMBIA 01/05/1965 CTH27834

LEE MARVIN
CAT BALLOU
http://www.filmclub.org
COLUMBIA
01/05/1965
CTH27834

I’ve taken a lot of your time I know—and when I finish here you’ll all probably run off and set a record for toilet bowl flushes the likes of which has not been seen since… halftime at the Super Bowl. But folks, this lack of color diversity among celebrity noses must come to an end!

Much the same as this blog post.

However, I just felt that it was high time I breathed new life into this Oscar Boycott thing.

I could go on, but you probably want me to stop now.

 

 

 

74 comments on “I Think It’s Time For Another Boycott

    • Thank you, Scott. I guess that’s what I do best. I take people without reason, and then give them one! I’ve been working on trying to give people more than one reason, but at the moment, I’m only capable of one. 😀

  1. Paul, I too was hostile enough last month to post about not being a fan of any awards like the Oscars, Grammys, etc. as I think artistic endeavors are so subjective to evaluate I don’t see the point of having a competition with them like we’re trying to determine a champion in sports. The arts should be supported, not awarded. The Oscar voting block as I understand it is 94% white and 77% male. That’s absurd. Most people get nominated simply because they are widely liked by the “cool kids” in the Academy or as a “make-good” for failing to nominate people earlier in their careers and they want to give ’em one before they die. I can’t tell you how many Oscar-nominated films for Best Pic I’ve seen that I wanted my money back for…which is why I will don my red nose on Oscar night and most certainly watch something else. (I didn’t know you were “in” with Bing Bong…maybe you can arrange an intro sometime?)

    • All of it seems so silly and often makes for some entertaining live theater on that particular night. But like you Bruce, I can’t remember the last time the Best Picture winner gave me my money’s worth in return. Maybe it was Titanic. But whats that been 18, 19 years? No wonder the Academy is having a hard time keeping their audience! I’ll do my best to get you an audience with Bing. It might not be as difficult as you think, though. These days, all I have to do is ring his door bell, and he thinks someone’s calling his name and comes to open the door. Oh these movie stars. 😀

    • Lynn, thank you so much. I haven’t had the opportunity to thank you for last week, when you took time to write that very nice piece about my blog. I had so many other blogger’s come by for a visit, that more than a few survived that awesome blindside to become followers of my blog, too! I can’t thank you enough. I only hope they don’t turn on you for introducing them to my atrocious blogging style. Although I fear I may have contaminated more than a few good writer’s as a result. Still, thank you for introducing them to my blog. ‘o)

  2. Thankfully, because of you, we can still have a sense of humor and laugh at ourselves and the fact that we take all the wrong things much too seriously. The nose always nose best especially when it’s not out of joint…:)

  3. Did Titanic win Best Picture? haha I remember it was nominated, but couldn’t remember if it won. Have to agree with all of this. I haven’t watched the Oscars in years. I think at one time they probably were respectable, but now they have become just so much hot air, and indulging everyone and their brother who had anything to do with the movies. I think the last time I watched is when “Silence of the Lambs” won best picture, best actor, and best acfress. All predictions said it wouldn’t win because it had come out so early in the year no one would remember it. Seriously? It’s been what – 26 years(?) – since it came out and I STILL remember it! I wish, instead of blowing hot air over the Oscars, they’d actually start making more quality movies. 🙂 Great post!

    • Thank you, Susan, and I couldn’t agree with you more. I wanted to, but my agent said it might endanger my chance to host the show just in case Chris Rock (this years host) were to suddenly pull out. But, as it looks now, he’s looking to stay put. So I guess it’ll be okay for me to agree with you more. I probably could use a new agent anyway. 😀

  4. Why isn’t anyone boycotting the Oscars for a lack of good movies? The movies that position themselves as Oscar contenders tick all the same boxes of historic biopics with a social message. None of them say anything new or take any risks. Who takes the Oscars seriously?

  5. Finally, someone has sniffed out the real story with the Oscars and is willing to tell it like it is. This post is nothing to sneeze at. Thanks your for your brave reporting.

    • You’re welcome, Ally. And you know, I think we out-scooped Inside Edition and Entertainment Tonight, too. They’ll never forgive us. But, “The Attic” goes where the paparazzi fear to tread—in fact, they fear to tread in here, too. Keep that under your hat though, case they change their minds. 😀

  6. You are so clever because with your ironic twists you make us laugh about a subject which is quite sad indeed… By the way, I hope things change for good as those racist features are not precisely ´politically correct´…
    Sending love. Aquileana : D

  7. Where do I begin? Oh heck I’ll start at the top, love the Steve Martin pic (he’s one of my faves). You had me scared for a moment with all the seriousness and then to my delight you transitioned to an issue that affects many noses of color – very funny stuff. Once again I was laughing like a hyena but I appreciated how you made us think about our priorities. Thanks Paul

    • Thank you Stephanae. I do think the lack of diversity is an important issue worthy of greater attention. And perhaps the Oscar boycott will draw a little more attention to the problem. But I also feel that many will think it a petty fight between rich people using the national issue concerning a lack of racial diversity as a reason to get nominated. That cheapens the real argument, especially since it involves more than just one race. ‘o)

      • Agreed. It’s one thing to prove a point (especially when you are in a prominent position to impact change for hopefully the better) and another to do it in a self-serving manner. This is a real issue that requires our attention, I just think there could have been a better way to draw our attention to it.

  8. I never follow those award shows. I JUST DON’T CARE. Never have. I had a girlfriend that would invite us over every year to watch these types of shows. I think I went a couple of times, but was bored out of my mind. Since we were in high school, the girls mainly wanted to look at the gowns and what antics would happen.

    With that said, I still love me some Will Smith and always find myself watching his movies, just because it has him in it. Many other white girls in their 30’s and 40’s, we’ve all salivated over him one time or another. I’ve never liked Jada, she bugs me, and I don’t think she did her husband any favors. His work speaks for itself.

    I’m not going to say there’s not an issue here.

    But, I do have to ask the question…because of this whole thing…in the future, are people of color now going to be nominated just because they are people of color and not necessarily for their acting skills? I fear that’s how others might see it going forward – regardless of who’s most deserving, we better make sure you have these individuals nominated or the color card will be dropped. Then what happens if they don’t win…oh, it’s because they aren’t white- that’s why they didn’t win.

    I certainly think we need to ensure there’s diversity when it comes to the nomination committee. I just fear the way Jada went about it, might backfire, but when is there a better time to address the issue? No matter…I still love me some Will Smith and will continue to listen to his music and watch his movies! Now we just need him to join up with LL Cool J. that would be perfect! We girls would die.

    • Will, is an awesome actor. As for Jada, I guess she’s fighting for her man and I don’t blame her for that. But the race card—ever since O.J. I can’t stand that term. This whole thing about racial diversity, especially over something as petty as the Oscars, is childish. I hate the way people are used by others who already have power and wealth when they stoop to make it part of a national debate. It’s conniving and self-serving and is not at all about people of color. Otherwise, it would address the many other cultural groups also denied the same opportunity. Any debate worth arguing is worthy of arguing on behalf of everyone, not just a select minority group. Oh my god…the bubbles coming up from the bottom of my soapbox! I better step down now.

  9. I’m not sure if I’m a nose of color or not. My nose, like the rest of my head, is kept under my paper bag at all times. I’ve never been nominated for an Oscar before either, which I think is almost certainly highly significant and rather troubling. (True, I’ve never appeared in any kind of movie role in my life, but still…)

    • Surely you’ve been in a home movie or two before. I can’t understand the Motion Picture Academy these days. What’s the world coming to when home movies aren’t even considered for best documentaries? Or even the worst documentaries, for that matter. Maybe Oscar feels that home movies are small potatoes, but speaking for my family and millions of other families, home movies are on the rise. Why they’re practically made by every family I know—and even a few I don’t. That translates to a lot of viewers, let me tell ya. Speaking of which; have the 007 people been in contact with you yet? My agent hasn’t heard a peep. Although, that might be because I currently don’t have an agent. But, I’d rectify that in a heartbeat if the 007 people were to reach out to me.

      • I have starred in a number of classic home movie productions, often giving the kind of authentic, unmannered performance that only comes from being filmed secretly by your children when you’ve fallen asleep on the couch.

        As for the 007 role, it hasn’t quite been confirmed yet. I think things are finally starting to move, though. I read the other day that Daniel Craig is definitely leaving in order to take up a TV role. Clearly he realized that my getting the part is a foregone conclusion so he decided to move on while there were still other offers open to him.

      • I know the role well. It’s how I got this nose! One should never fall sound asleep in the presence of a 5 year old. As for you picking up the bow tie and playing James Bond, well I’d heard that too. Craig, obviously caught wind of the fact that your awesome manliness had rendered him all but obsolete as 007. No doubt, you’ll soon start practicing on those Vodka Martinis—shaken not stirred, unlike your beloved Shirley Temples.

      • Sorry about the nose. Of course, once I’m James Bond, no five-year-old will dare try the same thing with me. It’s just one of the many advantages of being a suave super-spy and international man of mystery.

      • Well, when you’re that kind of a super secret agent (your name and picture front and center everywhere) you’re able to fly under the radar undetected by any sinister five-year-old capable of nostril intent. 😀

      • I might be known to the rest of the world, but unless I’m a James Bond given to making special guest appearance on Dora the Explorer, I’ll probably remain unknown to the under-five crowd.

      • Ah, very true! Your Mi6 training is already kicking in I see. Uh…not that I doubt you or anything, but your not planning on any visits to Sesame Street, or Curious George now, are you? Q-Branch has been sending memos out to the double-O’s for years reminding agents that the, under-five crowd is actually the new underworld. Wouldn’t want you to blow your cover now.

      • We spies at MI6 have had our eyes on Curious George for some time. He mainly seems to be curious about a) centrifuge technology for creating enriched weapons-grade uranium and b) laundering covert payments from North Korean. We haven’t turned up anything on Sesame Street, though. We just watch it closely because we enjoy the show.

Leave a Reply

