I Can Cliche Until The Cows Come Home

cliche

They say an idle mind is the devil’s playground, and I was at my wit’s end. I knew I was a day late and a dollar short (make that a post or two short). I had no post, my back was against the wall, to coin a phrase (a phrase already coined). But relax, all in due time.

On second thought, I’d just take it one day at a time and suddenly, a third day—on the seventh I rested (too biblical?). But relax, all in due time.

Here it was the start of the week, and I was Monday morning quarterbacking. My stomach was in knots, my hands were tied, and ideas for a post were dropping like flies. But relax, all in due time.

Still, I kept thinking, don’t sweat it, the end will justify the means, every dark cloud has a silver lining. Yet it lingered in the back of my mind; don’t put off until tomorrow what you can do today. But relax, all in due time.

I had tried writing about everything, everything but the kitchen sink, “anything goes” I said to myself. No point in beating a dead horse (not that I had one). But relax, all in due time (what a scary thought!).

However, I was up a creek without a paddle. Desperate means require desperate measures. But relax, all in due time.

Now if I’ve said it once I’ve said it a thousand times; If wishes were horses, beggars would ride (yes, it makes no sense, but it filled a line). But relax, all in due time.

Yes, I was fit to be hung, but fit as a fiddle. I said to myself, “I can do this, and The Home Depot can help.” (oh wait, that’s a slogan!). But relax, all in due time.

But there was no reason to run around like a chicken with its head cut off. For as luck would have it, and it fit like a glove especially with cliches all written above; I would write in cliche! Is it due time?

They were on the tip of my tongue. I was no longer out to lunch, I had the pick of the litter. It was like child’s play. I no longer had my tail between my legs, I was taking the bull by the horns, this post was no longer a thorn in my side. With tongue in cheek, I was no longer tongue tied.

I guess you could say; All’s well that ends well, and it’s high time!

59 comments on “I Can Cliche Until The Cows Come Home

  1. But relax, it sounded so poetic!
    To me, ‘ If wishes were horses, beggars would ride’ made sense while reading it. Is it your writing or it is my mind? But relax, all in due time (and rhyme)

  2. I’m at the end of my rope- it’s only a day away (as the crow flies) good thing I’ve an ace up my sleeve!
    And my favorite – if wishes were fishes and cows could be king the world would be full of wonderous things!

  3. That was a fine post indeed. You had an ace up your sleeves with this one. No need to get bent out of shape, for you are a man after my own heart. (though not literally as that would make you some sort of killer) At the end of the day (is night) you pulled it off, (?) and all’s well that ends well. 🙂

  4. Don’t you just hate it when all those cliches leap onto the page? I’d say you’ve done a good job corralling them into a jolly good post!

  5. Hi! I’m glad you liked my Evernote post. I like your avatar. I just wrote a guest post tonight for Lifehack about the merits of creative people
    Thanks for visiting my blog Reflections this weekend. Congratulations on what an engaged community you have here.
    Janice

    • Thank you Janice for the kind words, I’m very fortunate to have a bright group of readers, now I only hope I can keep up with them. And you’re very welcome, I did enjoy your post. Evernote caught my interest and sounds quite versatile. ;O)

Leave a Reply

