Living In The Moment? Ha!

measuring time

Can we be serious for just a moment? Phew … didn’t it seem like that moment would never end? Thank goodness that’s over. Or is it?

Serious discourse takes more than a moment. Do you remember back in college? I do, and I can tell you those serious classroom discussions seemed like they went on for hours. It felt like eternity, but we’ll save that for another time.

Right at this very minute, THEY-sayers are trying to convince the public that we are just living in the moment.

THEY say, life is made up of a series of moments all strung together. Knowing how THEY lie, I decided to investigate to see if this theory is really true. Oh, and before we proceed any further, who are THEY?

I’m sorry we can’t waste another moment waiting for the answer to that question. But know this THEY…we will find out who you are. You can’t hide forever, we’ll eventually strip away that veiled and vague alternative to what your actual identity really is!

But, back to my investigation.

I had labored all these years under a completely different theory. I always felt the experience, known as life, was comprised of minutes and seconds, even months, days, and years, but not moments.

And the facts support my theory. Simply ask yourself, “Do we not celebrate our birthday on specific dates, months, and years?” Of course we do, it’s not a spur-of-the-moment thing. I knew my hypothesis had to be correct.

When my wife asked me what I was doing,  I replied, “Well at the moment, I’m trying to prove what a moment is not, and in turn decide if life is made up of a series of moments.”

After rolling her eye’s upward, she responded, “Are these defining moments, or just your everyday run of the mill routine moments? And why are you conducting a pseudo-scientific inquiry into moments?”

My blank stare was met with the next question, “Do you know what pseudo-scientific means dear”?

Of course I did, but I didn’t have the time to explain that suito—was the ancient science of Japanese suit design—so I told her I would explain it to her later, when I had a moment.

Anyway, I didn’t have the heart to ask her why she wanted to know about the art of Japanese suit design in the first place, so I didn’t ask.

However, I felt reasonably sure that this far-fetched idea of moments taking the place of precise time-tested measurements was utterly preposterous.

I mean, are you living in the moment when you go to the movies? Now you know most movies run two-hours. In the moment? No. Hours? Yes.

These THEY-sayers will even try to confuse you with their double-talk by implying that we are living moment-to-moment! Really?

Oh I get it, if we won’t buy into the idea of living in a series of moments, then maybe getting us to buy the idea of living in just one or two moments will sway us.

THEY… will mislead you if you let them. Don’t let their fuzzy logic about time force you to live in the moment. Instead, learn to live in real time. Living in the moment? Ha!

4 comments on “Living In The Moment? Ha!

  1. “Of course I did, but I didn’t have the time to explain that suito — was the ancient science of Japanese suit design ” Hilarious line! I don’t live in the moment — so I need Rafiki from Lion King to hit me on the head and remind me “It’s in the past!” Excellent concept post, my friend!
    Stephanie

  2. Now you’ve made me obsessed with the impossible notion of living in the moment. By the time I’ve thought, “I’m going to live in the moment” the moment is gone. I just spent a bunch of time trying to catch moments to live in them. Thanks! Like I need more impossible quests!
    Loving the moments I’ve spent perusing your blog!

Leave a Reply

